On Stony Ground : M. Sean Coleman

Hello you lovely lot, and happy Friday. Friday is the time to get your Friday dance on and what better way to kick start the weekend than to share with you all my thoughts on On Stony Ground. Now if you seen or remember I put a little video up on Twitter and Instagram and it was basically how speechless I was, well really it was a big bit speechless because I am still struggling to write a review about how epic it really is.

So what’s the book all about, well let me show you the blurb and then we shall talk.

A DARK CHILLING MYSTERY THRILLER

A spate of brutal killings in the lake district town of Penrith sees Dr Alex Ripley – the miracle detective – reunited with friend and Forensic Investigator Emma Drysdale to face a killer with a very sinister message.

Once again, Ripley is called in to help the police when they discover that all of the victims all have some kind of religious connection.

What Ripley discovers is that the killer’s message is far more personal than any of them thought. But what do these last gospels, doom paintings, gods and demons have to do with the murders of three innocent people? And why is Ripley so important to the killer?

THE THIRD ALEX RIPLEY MYSTERY

Well that’s some blurb huh, well it was some book, let me tell you I still have no words to do this book any justice. On Stony Ground is the 3rd in the Alex Ripley series and my goodness it didn’t disappoint if anything the series just gets better and better. Do you know what early review spoiler alert I would say it was the best one yet!

The Happy Dance came out when this landed through the letterbox, not only that but Sean had took the time out to sign it whig made for some epic Happy dancing. For those who asked I forgot to record the dance moves.

I love the Alex Ripley series, it has pulled me in from book one and like I say they get better and better. We had The Cuckoo Wood and A Hollow Sky before On Stony Ground and its a series I would happily re read.

We are back with Ripley and her mates Drysdale and Cotter. Daniel Cotter is back in a new area, a promotion and a new partner DS Dunn. One thing that gave me the giggles is if you have read the series before you may remember Cotter inviting Ripley round for a delicious stew. Well this time Dunn, Drysdale and Ripley all go round to Cotter’s for a delicious stew. It brung back memories.

Now I really don’t want to give too much away or let anything slip, if you haven’t read the previous two books in the series you can read On Stony Ground as a standalone but it is a cracking series and more enjoyable to read the series in order.

On Stony Ground just blew me away. The time and effort gone into the research is just mind blowing and I actually learnt a thing or two. Sean Coleman has really smashed it out the park with this one, keeping his title of one of my go to authors.

To really sum up On Stony Ground and do it justice is really difficult. It pulls you in from the start. On Stony Ground is fast paced, thrilling, keeps you on tenderhooks, out of this world.

It’s just Wow, Mind-blowing, thrilling, epic and I still haven’t gotten over that ending either, I am still in shock!

Don’t forget to check out @reddogpress to pick up your copy!

Leave a comment