Ever Alice : H. J Ramsay

Well Hello February, I kind of lost january to a little bit of self care and managing to read 8 books. No I haven’t reviewed those 8 books yet, so Ever Alice is my first review of 2021 and I got so lost for words I won’t lie. I have a few people to thank for me being able to give you this review.

***

I received this book to read and review as part of the BBNYA 2020 competition and/or the BBNYA tours organised by the
@The_WriteReads
tours team. All opinions are my own, unbiased and honest.

BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors.

If you are an author and wish to learn more about the 2021 BBNYA competition, you can visit the official website (https://t.co/1Kgaq5gW8L) or our Twitter account,
@BBNYA_Official
. If you would like to sign-up and enter your book, you can find the BBNYA 2021 AUTHOR SIGN UP FORM HERE. Please make sure to carefully read our terms and conditions before entering.

If you are a book blogger or reviewer, you can apply to be part of BBNYA 2021 by filling out this form (also remember to read the terms and conditions before signing up)!

BBNYA is brought to you in association with the Folio Society(https://t.co/ghOxJ0NwrG) (If you love beautiful books you NEED to check out their website!) And the book blogger support group TheWriteReads.

***

Okay now that bit is done let’s take a look at the blurb.

Alice’s stories of Wonderland did more than raise a few eyebrows – it landed her in an asylum. Now at 15 years of age, she’s willing to do anything to leave, which includes agreeing to an experimental procedure. When Alice decides at the last minute not to go through with it, she escapes with the White Rabbit to Wonderland and trades one mad house for another : the court of the Queen of Hearts. Only this time, she is under orders to take out the Queen. When love, scandal and intrigue begin to muddle her mission, Alice finds herself in the wrong side of the chipping block.

Now we pretty much all know how much I love Alice, even down to getting an Alice Tattoo and collecting Alice related items. So to pick up a book that’s not really a re-telling more of a sequel it filled me with fear. Alice is 15 now and still can’t forget Wonderland (who can blame her), her parents and sister tho think she has gone mad with her tales of Wonderland and she finds herself in the Asylum. I mean we’re all mad here. I really feel for Alice, I mean I would believe her. Ramsay introduces us to some new faces alongside a whole host of our favourites but with some name changes. Ralph is the White Rabbit, Sir William is Hatter and Rosamund is The Queen of Hearts to name a few. Okay so it did take me some time to grasp that but I soon picked it up as I became absorbed in the story. I enjoy the fact we are told the story from not only Alice’s perspective but Rosamund’s too, it added an extra spin to things. We have the whole lies and danger element to the tale but Ramsay also has some pretty funny moments in there and some tongue in cheek delights.

Ever Alice is enjoyable and quirky and one I’d be happy to have sitting alongside my collection, and a cheeky wee reread of. Ramsay has written not only a fun tale but one that brings elements of Wonderland back to live with her own unique spin, it’s beautifully written.

My many thanks again to the @The_WriteReads team for having me on board, I found a true gem being part of the panel, and not only that but had so much fun I’ve asked if they will have be back again this year.

One thought on “Ever Alice : H. J Ramsay

Leave a comment